The Arizona School Boards Association elected their Executive Committee today at their Annual Business Meeting during the 59th Annual Conference.

Elected officers include:

Linda Lyon, Oracle School District
Lawrence Robinson, Roosevelt Elementary School District
Steven Chapman, Tolleson Union HS District

The election of secretary, treasurer and president-elect was held at the ASBA Annual Business Meeting at 11:15 a.m. on Thursday, Dec. 15, 2016, at the Biltmore Conference Center in Phoenix in conjunction with the ASBA-ASA Annual Conference. Eighty-seven school board delegates attended the meeting to cast their votes. Two of the three officers elected were nominated from the floor.

The elected officers will join Julie Bacon (Paradise Valley USD), 2017 president of the ASBA Board of Directors, and Kathy Knecht (Peoria USD), immediate past president, to form the executive committee of the ASBA Board of Directors.

ASBA Executive Director Dr. Tim Ogle reported that all six bylaws failed to pass, because none received the required 149 votes, which is two-thirds of the 224 active member districts. Since electronic voting was implemented last year, the participation has gone from 63 to 98 to 125 district voters this year. Four of the six measures had positive votes, including Proposal B, which would have amended the two-thirds vote to only apply to those districts that vote, but the 98-27 vote did not have the required 149 votes representing two-thirds of all districts.