ASBA Stories by You

37 Arizona Public Schools Earn Arizona Educational Foundation A+ School of Excellence® Award

by | Feb 16, 2024

By Arizona Educational Foundation

The Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF®) is pleased to announce the names of 37 Arizona public schools receiving the coveted A+ School of Excellence® Award for the 2023-2024 academic year.

The AEF® A+ School of Excellence® Award recognition began in 1983 as a way of identifying, celebrating, and recognizing educational excellence in schools throughout Arizona.

In addition to showcasing exceptional public schools, the A+ Award application process provides school teams with an outstanding comprehensive framework that serves as a basis for school self-assessment and planning.

The A+ School of Excellence® award is the highest state-level award given to a public school and is often a stepping-stone for schools seeking National Blue Ribbon status.

The A+ Award is a powerful energizer for increasing public confidence in recognized schools, often resulting in greater parent and community involvement and even serves as an economic driver for some communities.

“The A+ School of Excellence Award is significant as it sends a message throughout communities that the local neighborhood public school down the street is an exceptional choice, brimming with opportunities for students to learn and grow, and for faculty and staff to thrive,” stated Kim Graham, AEF® Chief Executive Officer. “AEF was established to shine a spotlight on the great work of public schools and the hardworking educators and employees who devote themselves to serving students and families. The A+ School of Excellence Award is our way of honoring that incredible dedication.”

“The AZ Educational Foundation is thrilled to continue the A+ School of Excellence program,” stated Pam Roggeman, AEF Board President. “It is an honor to celebrate the students, teachers, families, staff, and dedication that make up an A+ School. Everyone should know that when an A+ School of Excellence banner hangs on a school, that community is something SPECIAL.”

A+ Schools are celebrated and recognized as exceptional. Earning the highly prestigious and coveted A+ designation spotlights the positive successes happening in public schools every day.

The 2024 A+ School of Excellence® schools are:

Acacia Elementary, Vail School District
Arizona Charter Academy, Success School
Arizona College Prep Middle School, Chandler Unified School District
Arredondo Elementary, Tempe Elementary School District
Boulder Creek High School, Deer Valley Unified School District
Canyon Rim Elementary, Gilbert Public Schools
Cienega High School, Vail School District
Cortez High School, Glendale Union High School District
Desert Canyon Elementary, Scottsdale Unified School District
Desert Meadows School, Laveen School District
Desert Willow Elementary, Vail School District
Diamond Canyon School, Deer Valley Unified School District
Eisenhower Center for Innovation, Mesa Public Schools
Empire High School, Vail School District
Encanto Elementary, Osborn School District
Esmond Station K-8, Vail School District
Faith Mather Sossaman Elementary, Queen Creek Unified School District
Gowan Science Academy, Crane Elementary School District
Kyrene Aprende Middle School, Kyrene School District
Kyrene de la Mariposa, Kyrene School District
Kyrene de la Sierra, Kyrene School District
Kyrene Traditional Academy, Kyrene School District
Kinsey Inquiry and Discovery School, Flagstaff Unified School District #1
Mary C. O’Brien Elementary, Mary C. O’Brien Accommodation District
Mesquite Elementary, Vail School District
Mountain Ridge High School, Deer Valley Unified School District
Paseo Pointe Elementary, Laveen School District
Payson High School, Payson Unified School District
Pima Butte Elementary, Maricopa Unified School District
Poly STEM Elementary, ASU Preparatory Academy
Ranch Elementary, J.O. Combs Unified School District
Robert J. C. Rice Elementary, Chandler Unified School District
Tombstone High School, Tombstone Unified School District
Towne Meadows Elementary, Gilbert Public Schools
Vail Academy and High School, Vail School District
Verrado Heritage Elementary, Litchfield Elementary School District
Wildflower Accelerated Academy, Avondale Elementary School District

The AEF A+ School of Excellence® evaluative process is multi-faceted, identifying strong success in teaching and learning strategies, student achievement, leadership, and community integration. Public schools in Arizona can apply for the AEF A+ School of Excellence® Award by submitting a written application, which is then reviewed by a panel of A+ principals, teachers, and district leaders. If accepted, schools participate in the final step of the selection which is a multi-day site visit led by a team of A+ Award judges.

The AEF A+ School of Excellence® award is valid for four years, and schools must reapply to continue their A+ status. Visit the AEF website to learn more about the A+ School of Excellence® program.