ASBA Messages


ASBA Messages

Members receive key messages by ASBA through email updates and text notifications.

ASBA is proud to announce the awarding of scholarships to six exceptional high school seniors across the state. Each student has been selected to receive a $1,250 scholarship in recognition of their academic and extracurricular achievements. ASBA encourages governing board members to celebrate these accomplished students at upcoming school board meetings, where they will be honored with a certificate and highlighted through a scripted acknowledgment of their contributions and successes. 

Black Alliance Georgie and Calvin Goode Honorary Scholarship 

This year, the recipients of the Georgie and Calvin Goode Honorary Scholarship are Oluwatoyin Akinsipe from Deer Valley High School in the Deer Valley USD and Sydni Moffett from Northridge High School in the Lake Havasu USD. The scholarship is named after Calvin Goode, who dedicated 22 years to serving as a Phoenix city councilman and was a prominent member of the Phoenix ESD Governing Board. His wife Georgie, a devoted public school teacher, also served on the governing boards of Phoenix ESD and Phoenix UHSD, reflecting their joint commitment to education. 

HNAIC Panfilo H. Contreras Scholarship 

Sophia Bobadilla from Estrella Foothills High School in the Buckeye Union High School District and Emilie Pierzina from Dobson High School in the Mesa Public Schools are this year’s recipients of the HNAIC Panfilo H. Contreras Scholarship. This scholarship targets Hispanic or Native American Indian students who demonstrate high academic achievement, regular attendance, leadership qualities, and active participation in school and community activities. It was established in honor of Panfilo H. Contreras, who led ASBA as its Executive Director from 1998 to 2011. 

Jack Peterson Scholarship 

The Jack Peterson Scholarship has been awarded to Mikah Dyer of Ironwood High School in Peoria USD and Tyler Thompson from Lake Havasu High School in the Lake Havasu USD. This scholarship supports students who are planning to major in education at a college or university. It commemorates Jack Peterson, ASBA’s former Executive Director from 1991 to 1998, and his commitment to fostering future educators. 

Through these scholarships, ASBA continues to support and encourage the next generation of leaders and educators, underscoring the importance of academic excellence and community involvement.