Arizona public schools recognized at annual conference for leadership, student achievement and more

Nearly 700 school board members, superintendents and other public school leaders from throughout the state gathered in Phoenix Dec. 14-16 for the 59th joint annual conference of the Arizona School Boards Association and the Arizona School Administrators Superintendents’ Division.

Conference attendees had the opportunity to choose from 32 educational sessions addressing issues critical to public school leadership, and hear inspiring and informative messages from several keynote speakers:

pogue3David Pogue, host of NOVA Science Now & founder of Yahoo Tech in partnership with Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, Arizona State University.

jason3Jason Schechterle, keynote speaker and retired police officer.

Two Successful Pre-conferences

rookieOver 220 new board members attended a New Board Orientation Pre-conference which is the first professional development opportunity to understand their role and responsibilities as a new school board member.

precommunicationsClose to over 100 board members attended the Communications & Advanced Technologies Pre-conference. Attendees learned about top social media user trends, analytics, cyber bullying and more.

ASBA 2017 Executive Committee

Elected officers include: Linda Lyon, president-elect (Oracle School District), Lawrence Robinson, treasurer (Roosevelt Elementary School District) and Steven Chapman, secretary (Tolleson Union HS District). The elected officers will join Julie Bacon (Paradise Valley Unified School District), 2017 president of the ASBA Board of Directors, and Kathy Knecht (Peoria Unified School District), immediate past president, to form the executive committee of the ASBA Board of Directors.

Lifetime Achievement Award

robeyDr. Jack Peterson, the former executive director for the Arizona School Boards Association from 1991-1999, received the ASBA Barbara Robey Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions in support of public education and ASBA’s mission through servant leadership over an extended period of time.

Lou Ella Kleinz Excellence in Governance Award

lou-ellaThe Prescott Unified School District governing board was presented with ASBA’s annual Lou Ella Kleinz Award of Excellence for demonstrating the most outstanding educational leadership this year. This award is the highest honor the Arizona School Boards Association bestows on a governing board. Members of the Prescott USD board are Scott Hicks, Greg Mengarelli, Maureen Erickson, Tina Seeley and John Mackin.

All-Arizona School Board Award

all-azASBA also named a five-member “all-star team” of school board members from throughout the state. Recipients of the 2016 ASBA All-Arizona School Board Award were Margaret Burkholder (Vail USD), Sandi Nielson (Littleton ESD), Richard Hopkins (Buckeye ESD), Michelle Hirsch (Kyrene ESD) and Donna Young (Creighton ESD). This is the highest honor ASBA bestows on individual board members.

John R. McDonald Award

john-r-mcdonaldTimothy M. Hogan, executive director of the Arizona Center for Law in Public Interest, was honored as the 2016 recipient of the John R. McDonald Award. This special award was developed to honor prominent Tucson Attorney John R. McDonald who passed away in 2012. McDonald was once president of the Arizona School Boards Association and left a legacy of dedication to improving education.

View all photos from the Annual Awards Dinner Program

View the photo album on Flickr

Awards for Programs that Advance Student Achievement

School programs from throughout the state that have shown outstanding successes in student achievement were also honored with ASBA Golden Bell Promise Program Awards.

2016 ASBA Golden Bell Promise Program Award Recipients

Elementary (pre-K through grade 8) Category
First Place: The PRIDE Program at Osborn Middle School, Osborn ESD

High School (Grades 9-12) Category
First Place: The United States Block: History and English Program at Prescott High School, Prescott Unified School District

Joint Technical Education District/Career Technical Education (Grades 9-12) Category

First Place: The iSTEM College and Career Academy Manufacturing Program at Desert View High School, Sunnyside USD

Excellence in Collaboration Category
First Place: Rainbow Valley Collaboration, Intervention and Action Program at Rainbow Valley Elementary School, Liberty ESD

Student Honors

peterson-scholarshipASBA’s Jack Peterson Scholarships, presented annually to high-performing high school seniors who plan to pursue college degrees in education, were awarded to:

  • Alexandra Gomez, Washington High School, Glendale Union High School District
  • Nikole Gomez, Washington High School, Glendale Union High School District

hnaicASBA’s Hispanic-Native American Indian Caucus presented the Panfilo H. Contreras Honorary Scholarship to deserving Hispanic and Native American Indian students for their post-secondary education. Receiving scholarships were:

  • Lizbeth Bernal, Washington High School, Glendale Union High School District
  • Nizhoni Long, Westview High School, Tolleson Union High School District

Jack Peterson Student Photography Contest (High School)

photo-winnersASBA named the winners of the annual Jack Peterson Student Photography Contest, who demonstrated excellence behind the lens. The theme of the statewide student photography contest was “Arizona Outdoors.”
1st Place: Patilena Aguero, Tse’ Yaato’ High School, Coconino County Accommodation School District
2nd Place: Sidni Calley, Benson High School, Benson Unified School District
3rd Place: Phoenix Scruggs, Red Mountain High School, Mesa Public Schools

Honorable Mentions:

Desiray Davis, Sedona Red Rock High School, Sedona-Oak Creek Unified School District
Hannah Bryan, Walden Grove High School, Sahuarita Unified School District
Edgar Verdugo, Sedona Red Rock High School, Sedona-Oak Creek Unified School District
Jason Keyser, Pinnacle High School, Paradise Valley Unified School District
Aria Harness, Sedona Red Rock High School, Sedona-Oak Creek Unified District

Jack Peterson Student Photography Contest (K-8)

1st Place: Ashley Reeves, Chinle Jr. High School, Chinle Unified School District
Runner-Up: Riley Shepherd, Gridley Middle School, Tucson Unified School District

View all photos from the Golden Bell Luncheon

View on Flickr.