A new ASBA president and Board of Directors will kick off 2018 - hear them ROAR!

Linda Lyon (Oracle SD) introduced the 2018 ASBA Board of Directors to join her on the stage at the annual conference. The elected officers for 2018 include president-elect, Lawrence Robinson (Roosevelt SD); treasurer, Steven Chapman (Tolleson UHSD) and secretary, Ann O’Brien, (Deer Valley USD). The Board of Directors is composed of these five executive officers and 17 County Directors – one for each county in Arizona, with two for Pima and Maricopa Counties due to their higher populations. View the County Directors and Caucus Chairs for 2018.

Awards presented to school board members and public schools that exemplify excellence

Nearly 500 school board members, superintendents and other public school leaders from throughout the state gathered in Phoenix Dec. 13-15 for the 60th joint annual conference of the Arizona School Boards Association and the Arizona School Administrators Superintendents’ Division.

In addition, the people and programs in Arizona’s public schools that exemplified excellence in education in 2017 were honored with awards. Honorees hailed from districts large and small throughout the state.

View all awardee photos by clicking here.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Robey Lifetime Achievement Award for 2017 was presented to Governor Hull.

Governance and Leadership Awards – VIEW VIDEOS

Lou Ella Kleinz Award of Excellence

The Pendergast Elementary School District governing board was presented with ASBA’s annual Lou Ella Kleinz Award of Excellence for demonstrating the most outstanding educational leadership this year. This award is the highest honor the Arizona School Boards Association bestows on a governing board. Members of the Pendergast ESD board are Jose Arenas, Senator Martin Quezada, Hilda Ortega-Rosales, Ruben Gutierrez and Susan Serin.

All Arizona School Board Member Award

ASBA also named a four-member “all-star team” of school board members from throughout the state. Recipients of the 2017 ASBA All-Arizona School Board Award were Denyice Bondurant (Chevelon Butte ESD), Franceen Gregovich-Benton (CVIT), Denise Guenther (Florence USD) and Karen McClelland (Sedona-Oak Creek USD). This is the highest honor ASBA bestows on individual board members.

Recognition for Training

Individual board members and full governing boards that have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to pursuing training in leadership, governance and issues related to public education were also recognized.

  • Eighteen boards received the ASBA Total Board Award, which is granted to a governing board when at least a quorum of members has received 36 hours of voluntary training.
  • Four board members were presented with the Gold STAR Award, which is awarded to members who have taken advantage of 600 or more professional development hours. Congratulations to Martie Payne (Palominas ESD), Linda Yazzie (Holbrook USD), Cynthia Matus-Morriss (Patagonia ESD) and Karen McClelland (Sedona Oak Creek USD).

A complete list of boards and individuals recognized for their commitment to training is available upon request. All photos are available by clicking here.

Golden Bell Promise Program Awards – VIEW VIDEOS

Elementary Category
Maricopa Unified School District, Blended Learning Program Gets Results

High School Category
Sahuarita Unified School District, Cognitive Return to Exertion (CORTEx)

Joint Technical Education/Career Technical Education Category
Sunnyside High School, Sunnyside USD, Introducing Student to the World of Bioscience

Excellence in Collaboration category
Paradise Valley Unified School District, Volunteer in Paradise: Student Mentoring