Advocacy Awards


Advocacy Awards

ASBA presents two awards for advocacy. The Advocate of the Year Award is an annual award presented to recognize an education advocate or advocates who have excelled in grassroots advocacy. Individuals may earn the Pillar Award for advocacy activities over the course of each year.


Advocacy Awards

We recognize school board members for the critical roles they play in supporting the ASBA Political Agenda and public education in Arizona. 

The Advocate of the Year Award was developed to recognize individuals who go above and beyond in advocating for the students in K-12 education. ASBA typically presents this award to a member who shows exemplary dedication to advocating on behalf of public schools, and recognizes the individual at the Legislative Workshop.

2023 Recipient

Frankie DalMolin was selected as the Arizona School Board Association Advocate of the year for his exceptional commitment and dedication to public education. He is known for his unwavering support for students, educators, and parents in the Globe Unified School District, as well as his advocacy for rural school districts across Arizona. Frankie has been a champion for improving educational opportunities in rural areas and has been instrumental in advancing policies that promote equity, diversity, and inclusion in education. He was also extremely helpful with addressing the Aggregate Expenditure Limit (AEL), which has been a longstanding issue for school districts across Arizona. Frankie’s leadership and advocacy have made a positive impact on the lives of many students in Arizona, and he is a deserving recipient of this prestigious award.

2021 Recipient

Monica Timberlake,  Quartzsite Elementary School District

2019 Recipient

ASBA presented the 2019 Advocate of the Year Award to the Capital Litigation Partners for championing capital funding needs for Arizona students. Congratulations to Arizona Education Association, Arizona School Administrators, Elfrida Elementary School District, Chino Valley Unified School District, Crane Elementary School District, Glendale Elementary School District and Ms. Kathy Knecht, Peoria resident.

2017 Recipient

Support our Schools AZ

2016 Recipient

Jim Love, Flowing Wells Unified School District


Submissions are now open until May 31. Email ASBA Governmental Relations Director Chris Kotterman at with your nomination for the Advocate of the Year Award!

The Arizona School Boards Association Pillar Award for Advocacy recognizes school board members for service in the advocacy arena that goes above and beyond their regular board duties. The pin will be awarded to members who have accumulated a total of 125 points based on the below activities.

Award Presentation

This award is presented in conjunction with the ASBA-ASA Annual Conference.


Submissions are now closed.