Lifetime Achievement Awards


Barbara Robey Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors an individual who has significantly contributed to Arizona public education statewide over an extended period of time. 

The prestigious Barbara Robey ASBA Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an Arizonan who has made outstanding contributions statewide over an extended period of time as a champion for public education and in alignment with ASBA’s mission.

Selection Criteria

Each nominee is evaluated, first and foremost, on the impact of his or her service to public education throughout Arizona. The outstanding service performed must have significantly benefitted the students and staff of school districts throughout the state over time. Servant leadership is highly valued, and the nominee’s public image and character will be of paramount consideration, as well. 

    Important Dates

    • Nominations Close: Aug. 29, 2023, at 5 p.m.
    • Recipient Selected: Sept. 5, 2023
    • Recipient Notified: No later than Sept. 29, 2023
    • Video Production: October and November 2023
    • Award Presentation: Dec. 15, 2023


    Nominations will be accepted from individuals representing any area of Arizona education including, but not limited to, board members, administrators, teachers, volunteers, support staff, staff of education nonprofits, and elected and appointed office holders. Nominations must be submitted on the official entry form and received by the deadline. (Nominations not selected do not rollover for consideration from year to year.


    The ASBA Board of Directors selects the recipient at its September meeting.

    Notification of Recipient

    The nominator and selected recipient will be notified no later than Sept. 29.

    Award Presentation

    The Barbara Robey ASBA Lifetime Achievement Award is presented on the final day of the ASBA-ASA Annual Conference, which is held in December at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort in Phoenix. The recipient, nominee and their guests will be invited.


    A video honoring the recipient will be produced by ASBA staff. It will be shown during the award presentation, and shared via ASBA communication platforms and with the media.


    Please contact Kristi Sisk in the office of the executive director at or 602-254-1100.

    Past Winners

    History of the Award

    The award honors Barbara Robey, who, for more than three decades, was a tireless servant leader and advocate for Arizona public education and the children of our state during director of governmental relations for ASBA and through her long and respected history of public service, both as a school board member and the mayor of Litchfield Park, Ariz. In 2007, Mrs. Robey became the first recipient of the award. She passed away in 2014.