Local school boards govern ASBA through the Association’s Board of Directors. The Board of Directors is composed of five executive officers and 17 County Directors—one for each county in Arizona, with two for Pima and Maricopa Counties due to their higher populations. Officers are elected to one-year terms by the full membership at the ASBA Annual Meeting.

County Directors are elected by membership within each county to two-year terms at the County Workshops. All must be current school board members. The chairs of the ASBA Hispanic-Native American Indian Caucus and the ASBA Black Caucus also serve on the board of directors, as does any Arizona school board member who serves on the board of directors of the National School Boards Association.

Learn how your school district board and you can be part of the process which makes ASBA a member-driven association.