PHOENIX—New officers for 2012 were elected at the Arizona School Boards Association’s annual business meeting, which was held Dec. 15 in conjunction with the ASBA-ASA Annual Conference. Randy Schiller, a member of the Phoenix Union High School District governing board (Maricopa County), will serve as president elect; Carolyn Calderon, a member of the Palominas Elementary School District governing board (Cochise County), will serve as treasurer; and Jesus Rubalcava, a member of the Gila Bend Unified School District governing board (Maricopa County), will serve as secretary.

These newly elected officers join ASBA President Mike Hughes of Mesa Unified (Maricopa County) and Immediate Past President Dee Navarro of Prescott Unified (Yavapai County) as members of the executive committee of the ASBA Board of Directors.

Officers are elected by delegates representing Arizona School Boards Association member boards from throughout Arizona.

In addition to an executive committee, the ASBA Board of Directors includes one school board member from each county in the state, with the exception of Maricopa and Pima counties, which have two county directors each due to their much larger populations. Elections for these ASBA board positions were held in nine counties at ASBA County Meetings in September and October; seven new county directors were elected and two county directors were re-elected, all for two-year terms on the ASBA board of directors.

Arnold Goodluck (Sanders USD, Apache County ) returns to the board after a one-term hiatus. Dalene Griffin (Thatcher USD, Graham County), Kimberly Lunt (Duncan USD, Greenlee County), Bill Adams (Washington ESD, Maricopa County), Linda Yazzie (Holbrook USD, Navajo County), Alicia Bristow (Oracle ESD, Pinal County) and Sandrea Kerr (Mohawk Valley ESD, Yuma County) will all begin their first terms on the ASBA board of directors. Elaine Hall (Sahuarita USD, Pima County) will continue her service on the ASBA board of directors.

Carolyn Calderon, who served as Cochise County Director in 2011, was re-elected to the position for 2012, however, her election to ASBA treasurer earlier this month leaves the position vacant. ASBA is now seeking board members who are interested in applying for appointment to this position, as well as the Maricopa County Director seat vacated by incumbent Jesus Rubalcava’s election as ASBA secretary. Applicants must be serving school board members from those counties and their boards must be members of ASBA.

Also new to the ASBA board is Jerry Williams, who serves on the governing board of CAVIAT and was appointed to serve as county director for Coconino County for 2012. He replaced Sandra Kidman, who resigned from the position in fall 2011.

The Arizona School Boards Association is a private, non-profit organization dedicated to promoting community volunteer governance of public education and continuous improvement of student success by providing leadership and assistance to school district governing boards statewide. ASBA represents more than 1,200 school board members and more than 1 million Arizona children.